Drying in summer?

LearningMore

Auto Warrior
Reaction score
I am slowly approaching my first harvest. I’ve read extensively about drying/curing, and the general guidelines seem to shoot for 60/60 environment. I have a separate tent for drying (2x4 with infinity T6 and a small fan for gentle air circulation, not on the buds; small humidifier on inkbird in case the RH gets too low), but it’s summer in the south. 60 degrees isn’t happening. If temps are in the low-mid 70s, does that change what I should aim for, ambient tent RH-wise? Any other helpful tips appreciated.

sidfinch

Long-time listener, first-time caller
Reaction score
Website
gonejah.com
I'm doing it nearly the exact same, but it's my first time with this method after trying a few different ones with varied success. I wasn't able to keep the temp/rh in the half bath, closet, cardboard box, etc. anywhere near as consistent as the drying tent.

I still think you want 60% rh, a temp higher than 60 degrees will likely dry it faster than you'd like but I'm in the same boat - I can do low-mid 70's but it isn't going to be 60 degrees in my house until October.

One thing I've learned, or maybe it's just better for my situation, pulling them a day early and having to burp jars is WAY better than a day late and trying to get some moisture back in.

Also, get the mini temp/rh sensors and try to avoid the moisture packs unless you dry it out too much (below 60).

sidfinch

Long-time listener, first-time caller
Reaction score
Website
gonejah.com
im a huge brown paper bag guy i dry absolutely everything in them but I have only 1 tent that I grow year around in
What's the temp/rh in the space you keep those in, is it the same 60/60 target?

St. Tom

chillin like a villain
Staff member
Super Gladiator
AFN Global Moderator
Cultivators Club
Reaction score
Currently Smoking
Whatever s in my jars
What's the temp/rh in the space you keep those in, is it the same 60/60 target?