1. OFFICIAL AFN MERCHANDISE


    Sacra Via is the Exclusive Online Vendor for AFN


    Sacra Via Logo
    Browse The Store

    || AFN Mugs || AFN Dab Mats || AFN T-Shirts || & Much More ||



    Go Visit the Website Today to get your Official AFN Merchandise - Crafted with Love by our very own Rebel



    Use Discount Code GRAND10 for 10% discount from your first order!

    Thanks Logo Thanks Logo Thanks Logo


    Dismiss Notice
  2. All the Old Badges have been deleted to make way for New badges. Sorry to everyone who Lost any...
    Dismiss Notice

 Exsperienced Rockwool Growers?

Discussion in 'Hydroponics & Irrigation' started by Tyler_Durden88, Feb 27, 2019.

  1. Tyler_Durden88

    Tyler_Durden88 It's all about the Trichomes Gladiator Level 6

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2018
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    5,697
    Reputation:
    3,000
    I was debating on whether to switch my line but decided to stay with Advanced Nutrients sensi because I am familiar with it and can look at a plant and know what strength dose to give it. I figured changing medium and nutrient lines would be to much room for error even following their chart I grow alot of diffrent strains and some very nute sensitive. And I start at 1/3 rec strength and do the same by waiting to I see a little burn then back her off and keep her on the edge. My tap waters to high in iron and really messes with the medium so I had to get a RO system. But I have to watch for micro deficiencies bc of the water being so low in minerals. My Ppm is 3.lol
     
    Mizzo81 and woody like this.
  2. Mañ'O'Green

    Mañ'O'Green Retired to watch the grass grow. Staff Member Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2016
    Messages:
    6,562
    Likes Received:
    27,883
    Reputation:
    29,629
    Currently Smoking:
    Vaping MassTerpenes SerVum and Rosin Oil.
    AN is designed with RO water as a base. You should be ok. if anything you might want to add 50PPMs of calmag before you add your nutrients.
     
    Mizzo81 and woody like this.
  3. Tyler_Durden88

    Tyler_Durden88 It's all about the Trichomes Gladiator Level 6

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2018
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    5,697
    Reputation:
    3,000
    Yea that's the main reason I use AN is bc they are designed for RO water. I was gonna go with green planet GP3 but it's expensive for what it is. The reason I'm switching from coco is bc of the calmag issues. I never had any calmag problems until I tried to reuse my coco but that's one of the reasons I gravitated towards coco was bc they claim it's easy to reuse. But there's nothing easy about rinsing it all and picking out the old roots and then rebuffering it. It's a pain in the ass. And I used mother earth and canna coco and there's alot of inconsistency from one bag to another. Some runoff tested at 600ppm some at less than 50ppm and plants like consistency so I figured it don't get much more consistent than rockwool. I use botonicare calmag plus so I'll be sure to add a couple ml per gallon when I mix nutes.
     
    Mizzo81 and woody like this.
  4. Muddy

    Muddy Proud deplorable!

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    8,671
    Likes Received:
    1,633
    Reputation:
    5,289
    Currently Smoking:
    OG Kush, Deep Cheese, Key Lime

    Add enough cal/mag to raise your base RO to between 125 - 150 ppm. RO has no buffering capability which can result in difficulty in maintaining stable pH and ppm. That should also take care of any micro deficiencies.
     
    Mizzo81, woody and Tyler_Durden88 like this.
  5. Tyler_Durden88

    Tyler_Durden88 It's all about the Trichomes Gladiator Level 6

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2018
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    5,697
    Reputation:
    3,000
    Question? I have the 1.5 cubes and they are bigger than the hole in the hugo. Is it ok the cut a bit of rockwool out of the hugo to get my 1.5 cubes to fit snuggly in? I should have got the starter plugs but I ordered these by accident. Also I have rapid rooters but idk if it's ok to put a rapid rooters in the rockwool bc they are two diffrent media's. Any thoughts?
     
    Mizzo81 likes this.
  6. Mañ'O'Green

    Mañ'O'Green Retired to watch the grass grow. Staff Member Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2016
    Messages:
    6,562
    Likes Received:
    27,883
    Reputation:
    29,629
    Currently Smoking:
    Vaping MassTerpenes SerVum and Rosin Oil.
    I would cut the hole in the Hugo to a larger diameter but not deeper. I don't think the Rapid Rooters would be a problem. I used them in DWC surrounded by clay pebbles. I use a spoonful of Mykos in the hole of the Hugo moistened with some PHed water when I transplant.
     
  7. Shroomhead

    Shroomhead Auto Warrior

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    13
    Reputation:
    0
    Mizzo81 likes this.
  8. Tyler_Durden88

    Tyler_Durden88 It's all about the Trichomes Gladiator Level 6

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2018
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    5,697
    Reputation:
    3,000
    Mizzo81 likes this.
  9. Tyler_Durden88

    Tyler_Durden88 It's all about the Trichomes Gladiator Level 6

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2018
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    5,697
    Reputation:
    3,000
    So it seems that rockwool needs a heavier dose of nutrients than my coco coir plants. I'm assuming the CEC in rockwool is lower than coco maybe? But plants are healthy and roots are coming out bottom of the hugos already at seedling stage. My only complaint is these flora caps have to be perfectly level of they don't work correctly. And my flood tray is at a gradient to help waste water drain better. I'm hoping now that the roots are established they can put more energy into upward growth. But so far im loving rockwool. The roots really love this stuff.
     
    Animatey likes this.
  10. Animatey

    Animatey Died drinking compost tea

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Messages:
    409
    Likes Received:
    356
    Reputation:
    200
    @Mañ'O'Green / @Tyler_Durden88 how do you start your plants in 6 inch cubes? I've tried and felt like the 6 inch cube was way too wet after pre soak. Do you let the cube sit a couple days? Thank you!
     

Share This Page

Loading...
Loading...